Find us >

Key Contacts

Head of School
Professor Stuart Allan
AllanS@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 75420

Deputy Head of School
Professor Richard Sambrook
SambrookRJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74509

Director of Research Environment and Development
Professor Karin Wahl-Jorgensen
Wahl-JorgensenK@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 79414

Director of Research Impact and Engagement
Professor Jenny Kitzinger
KitzingerJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74571

School Manager
Ms Jo Marshall

MarshallJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74916

School Secretary
Ms Sarah Bruford
JOMECsec@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74509

Current PhD Students


Please also see our PhD alumni pages.


Fokiya Akhtar
Research: Cinema and Conflict - Mediatised life of peace and conflict in Kashmir via Indian Mainstream (Bollywood) Cinema
Email: AkhtarF@cf.ac.uk


Moza Abdullah Said Al-Rawahi
Resaerch: The Effects of Social Media on Political Cognitions and Behaviour: A Case Study of the Sultanate of Oman
Email: Al-RawahiMA@cardiff.ac.uk


Ebo Afful
Research: The Impact of Journalism on Democracy and Development in Ghana
Email: AffulE@cardiff.ac.uk


Nur Izzati Aziz
Research: The Journalism Studies Group
Email: AzizNI@cardiff.ac.uk


Ahmed Bait Othman
Research: Disasters and the Media: The Coverage of Cyclones Gonu AND Phet as Natural Disasters by the Omani Press
Email: BaitOthmanA@cardiff.ac.uk


Kyle Barrowman
Research: Translating the Dragon: Bruce Lee Between Film and Cutlural Studie
Email: BarrowmanK@cardiff.ac.uk


Nicolette Barsdorf-Liebchen
Research: The State Corporate Military Complex: It's Representation, Visualisation and Constitutive Subjectivisation
Email: Barsdorf-LiebchenN@cardiff.ac.uk


Steven Buckley
Research: Emotionally charged: To what extent does Fox News utilise emotion when reporting on news features?
Email: BuckleySJ@cardiff.ac.uk


Lisa Callaway
Research: Freedom of Speech and Censorship of Social Media: The Power of Social Media to Organise Peaceful Protest
Email: CallawayLM@cardiff.ac.uk


Hiu M. Chan
Research: Film Aesthetics, East and West
Email: ChanHM1@cf.ac.uk


Mathew Charles
Research: What Price Press Freedom? Reporting Crime, Corruption and Conflict in Colombia’s Bajo Cauca
Email: CharlesM1@cardiff.ac.uk


Wei-Ju Chen
Research: The global and the local in negotiations of media power, culture and identity: A case study of international brand magazines in China
Email: ChenW14@cf.ac.uk


Victoria Dando
Location: Rm. 1.24 Bute
Email: DandoVW@cf.ac.uk


Duangkaew Dhiensawadkij
Research: The Disclosure Analysis of Global Warming in Thailand: The Public Relations Practice in 2008-2012
Email: DhiensawadkijD@cardiff.ac.uk


Stephanie Frost
Resaerch: Rape Culture in News: A Study into the Representation of Sexual Violence in British News Media
Email: FrostS@cardiff.ac.uk


Zhan Gao
Research: Genetic Modified Food
Email: GaoZ3@cardiff.ac.uk


Shulin Gong
Research: To Discuss and Compare the Role of Sex in British and Chinese Television Advertising
Email: GongS1@cardiff.ac.uk


Hugh Griffiths
Research: Digital platforms: Learning, change & nation branding
Email: GriffithsHN@cf.ac.uk


Chao Guo
Research: hinese Documentary Film in the Age of New Media: An Investigation into its Influence on the Marginalised Groups in China
Email: GuoC3@cardiff.ac.uk


William Ham Bevan
Research: Keith Waterhouse: The Columnists Columnist and the Development of the British Tabloid, 1970-2009
Email: HamBevanWP@cardiff.ac.uk


David Harte
Research: Emerging Practices and Discourses in Hyperlocal Blogging in the UK
Email: HarteDM@cardiff.ac.uk


Rachel Howells
Research: Developing a new business model for local news provision and addressing the democratic deficit in the digital economy
Email: PoucherRJ@cf.ac.uk


Donna-Maree Humphery
Research: Postfeminism: Sisterhoods: The Complexity of Female Friendships Under Neoliberalism, Post Feminism and the Institution of Heterosexuality
Email: HumpheryDL@cardiff.ac.uk


Muhammad Ilyas
Research: Western Media Attitude Towards Muslims With Special Reference To The Media Coverage After 9/11
Email: IlyasM1@cardiff.ac.uk


Dinah Jones
Research: Newyddiaduraeth Cyfrwng Cymraeg mewn oes ddigidol
Email: JonesDM19@cardiff.ac.uk


Hyunju Lee
Research: News and power: An analysis of ‘media reform’ discourse in newspaper reports and presidential speeches in South Korea 2003-7
Email: LeeH9@cf.ac.uk


Linda Mitchell
Research: The role of the media in peacebuilding in post-conflict societies with special reference to Africa
Email: MitchellL4@cf.ac.uk


Marina Morani
Research: New media and new Italians: an analysis of online intercultural projects
Email: MoraniM@cf.ac.uk


Carolyn Newman
Research: How Safe is the "Safe Space" when (re) Constructing Multiculturalism Through Arts and Heritage Participatory Projects?
Email: NewmanCA1@cardiff.ac.uk


Norain Noordin
Research: Mobile Media Culture Among Youngsters Towards Better Communication Skills in Developing Countires
Email: NoordinNB@cardiff.ac.uk


Binakuromo Ogbebor
Research: Media representation of the News of the World phone hacking scandal and the Leveson inquiry
Email: OgbeborB2@cf.ac.uk


Idil Abdi Osman
Research: Somali Media and their role in Somalia's Civil War
Email: AbdiOsmanI@cf.ac.uk


Aderonke Osuntokun
Research: Media (mis) representation of widows in Nigeria: An ethnocultural analysis of media content and public opinion
Email: OsuntokunA@cardiff.ac.uk


Siti Othman
Research: Factors influencing domestic news production in Brunei’s print media, focusing on role perceptions and news values of journalists and editors.
Email: OthmanSU1@cf.ac.uk


Dafina Paca
Research: Neither Here Nor There: Exploring ‘identity’ amongst Kosovo Albanians in the UK
Email: PacaD@cf.ac.uk


Maria Papadopoulou
Research: Music rituals and social division: constructing, presenting and legitimizing the social self
Email: PapadopoulouM1@cf.ac.uk


Hyun-Jee Park
Research: Social Media, Youth and Identity: Identity Formation through Social Media among Korean Youth
Email: ParkH2@cf.ac.uk


Alida Payson
Research: Inhabiting Her: Reconfiguring Identity And Allegiance Among Immigrant, Asylum Seeking Refugee Women In Cardiff
Email: PaysonAB@cardiff.ac.uk


Carlo Piccinini
Research: Public Humanitarian Advocacy in Conflict: A study of agencies’ defies in mediating distant crises and suffering
Email: PiccininiC@cf.ac.uk


Allyson Purcell-Davis
Research: How the Today programme represented the hybrid embryo debate in 2008
Email: Purcell-DavisA@cf.ac.uk


Damian Radcliffe
Research: New Model Journalism: How Technology Is Changing The Business And Consumption Of Local News
Email: RadcliffeD@cardiff.ac.uk


Arran Rees
Research: What are museums in Wales doing to engage in contemporary social issues?
Email: ReesAJ5@cardiff.ac.uk


James Rendell
Research: Reading 21st century horror television
Email: RendellJ1@cf.ac.uk


Merisa Skulsuthavong
Research: The Lives of Fictional Artists: Constructed Identities, Imagined Narratives and Transmedia Landscapes
Email: SkulsuthavongM@cf.ac.uk


Sakulsri Srisaracam
Research: Cross Media News Productions in Convergance Newsroom
Email: SrisaracamS@cardiff.ac.uk


Sara Sylvester
Research: Monuments and the visual language of nation building
Email: SylvesterSM@cf.ac.uk


Yuan Tian
Research: Visual and Digital Cultures: Creative Communication
Email: TianY15@cardiff.ac.uk


Ahmed Topkev
Research: A Democratic Perspective on Reporting Religion: Newspaper Representations of Christians and Muslims in Britain and Turkey 
Email: TopkevAH@cardiff.ac.uk


Dimitrios Tsagalas
Research: The European Press and European Integration: How the Eurpean Press helps European Integration? A comparative analysis of the Greek and Cypriot Press
Email: TsagalasD1@cf.ac.uk


Michal Tuchowski
Research: Diaspora and ethnic media in the age of migration. The role of the Polish ethnic media in the process of integration of Poles in the United Kingdom after May 2004
Email: TuchowskiM@cardiff.ac.uk


Yasemin Mina Ulubelen
Research: Social Media and Citizen Journalism in political conflict
Email: UlubelenYM@cardiff.ac.uk


Daniel Wheelock
Research: Tilting At Wind Farms: Selling Climate Change In Civic Discourse. The Impact Of Meaning In Advertising On Behaviour Change
Email: WheelockD@cf.ac.uk


Richard Williams-Jones
Research: Late Night Final: The Sustainability of Council and Court Reporting in the UK’s Local Media
Email: Williams-JonesRL@cardiff.ac.uk


Aulia Wimboyono
Research: Being Muslim The Indonesian Way : The Construction and Representation of Femininity in Social Media
Email: WimboyonoAR@cf.ac.uk


Lijie Yang
Research: The Image of Female Asylum Seekers and Refugees in the British Media
Email: YangL20@cardiff.ac.uk


Lamma Zghou
Research: The Media Coverage of Al Jazeera English and the BBC of Operation Cast Lead
Email: ZghoulL@cardiff.ac.uk


Xin Zhang
Research: The conflicting identity of ethnic minorities within Chinese in the context of UK’s Multiculturalism, in particular to their political needs
Email: ZhangX41@cf.ac.uk


Xiaocai Zhang
Research: The Influence of Market Oriented Financial Press on Freedom of Press and Democratization in China
Email: ZhangX79@cardiff.ac.uk