Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Historical music collections (17th-20th C.)

The historical music collections include a wide-range of printed material and archives, from the personal papers of notable Welsh composers to diverse collections of European music from 17th century manuscripts to 20th century printed scores. The main historical music collections held in Special Collections are the Mackworth collection, Aylward collection, the BBC Music Library collection, and the Music Scores collection. Other notable collections include the personal archives of several Welsh composers, including Morfydd Owen, Grace Williams and David Wynne, plus a small collection about the operatic soprano Nancy Storace.

Featured also is the manuscript collection of H. J. W. Tillyard. This collection contains: Codex Peribleptos (Byzantine Sticherarium: hymns for fixed and moveable days from the 14th or 15th century); an anthology of 18th century Russian church music: an 18th century Russian manuscript containing hymns for the chief festivals; an 18th century Russian Church Hirmologium; and a collection of offprints of articles on Byzantine church music by Tillyard and St. V. Lazarevic.

Date range: 14th/15th C., 17th-20th centuries.

Significance: Significant in Wales and the United Kingdom.

Strengths: 18th and 19th century European music.

Size: 40 metres of shelves.

Languages: English, Italian, Spanish, German, and French.

Keywords: Music, vocal music, organ music, scores, opera, Herbert Mackworth (1737-1791), Theodore Edward Aylward (1844-1933), BBC, Nancy Storace (1766-1817), Welsh composers, Wales, Byzantine church music, Russian church music

Notes: Special Collections and Archives also holds an extensive collection of Welsh ballads, and a collection of Welsh Hymnology books. Extensive numbers of manuscript volumes are held in all the Music collections, including microfilm in the Composers’ manuscripts collection.