Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Calendar of State Papers (Domestic) (1547-1661)

The state papers domestic are the accumulated papers of the Secretaries of State relating to home affairs in Britain and Ireland. They contain information on every facet of early modern government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as some references to foreign policy. They also include private and official letters, musters, reports, commissions and instructions, council orders and correspondence, memoranda and draft parliamentary bills. The Library holds 48 volumes in total covering the period from the beginning of the reign of Edward VI in 1547 to the early years of the reign of Charles II (1660-61). The volumes for the years of the Interregnum (1649-1659) include Navy Papers, Navy Committee Orders, Militia Commissions, Recognizances and Warrants. (48 volumes, published 1856-1998).