Skip to content


The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is designed to assess the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication.

The test is made up of four modules:

  • Listening
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking.

Tests are designed to cover the full range of ability from non-user to expert user, with each module consisting of tasks of ascending levels of difficulty.  IELTS scores are accepted across Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the UK and the USA.

IELTS is jointly owned by British Council; IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge Assessment English.

IELTS is available in two formats – Academic and General Training.

Academic module

The Academic module is for candidates wishing to study at undergraduate or postgraduate levels, and for those seeking professional registration in the UK.  It is also a requirement for some professions in other English-speaking countries.

General Training module

The General Training module is for candidates wishing to migrate to an English-speaking country (Australia, Canada, New Zealand).

Each recognising organisation sets its own entry requirements. If you are in any doubt as to which module you should take, you should contact the organisation you are applying to in order to check their requirements.