Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


RSC Chemistry Symposium 2011

1 March 2011

Cardiff recently hosted a Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Faraday Division Awards Symposium, sponsored by the South East Wales Local Section of the RSC at which three leading physical chemists presented their research. Angelos Michaelides (University College London) was awarded the Marlow medal for his innovative contributions in broad areas of surface and physical chemistry, with particular relevance to heterogeneous catalysis and improved understanding of the water-ice interface. 

The Surfaces and Interfaces Award was presented to Robert Thomas (University of Oxford) for his pioneering use of neutron scattering, diffraction and reflectometry methods for studying physisorption at solid surfaces, and for probing structure and composition at liquid interfaces. The Centenary prize went to Avelino Corma (University of Valencia) and was awarded in recognition of his numerous novel contributions to the design, synthesis and application of catalysts, and the profound impact of these contributions on the industrial practice of catalysis. 

The awards winners are shown here with Mike Ashfold (President of the Faraday Division) (far left) and Cardiff's Graham Hutchings, PVC-Research, himself a previous recipient of the Surfaces and Interfaces Award.


RSC Chemistry symposium 2011