Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

Prof Graham Hutchings  -  FLSW FRS

Education: BSc (1972 1st Class Honours) University College London, PhD University College London (1975, C. A. Vernon, Biological Chemistry), DSc University of London (2002, Heterogeneous Catalysis).

Career: Scientific Officer, ICI Petrochemicals (1975-79) Research and Production Manager, ICI Petrochemicals (1979-1981) and Chief Scientific Officer AE&CI, Modderfontein South Africa (1981-84). Lecturer, Senior Lecturer and Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Witwatersrand (1984-7). Assistant Director, Leverhulme Centre for Innovative Catalysis, University of Liverpool (1984-94). Professor and Deputy Director, Leverhulme Centre (1994-7).  Professor of Physical Chemistry, Cardiff, 1997. Head of School 1997-2006, Pro-Vice Chancellor Research 2010-2012, Chair SCORE 2010-2013, Director Cardiff Catalysis Institute 2008, Director UK Catalysis Hub, 2012, President Faraday Division RSC 2012-2015.

Awards and Distinctions: Langmuir Distinguished Lecturer Award, Division of Colloid and Surface Science, ACS, 1996, Member of the Fachbeirat of the Fritz-Haber-Institut, Berlin, 1999-2015. DGMK 2001 - Kolleg Lectureship, Germany, 2001. IChemE Entech Medal 2004. RSC 2004 Award for Heterogeneous Catalysis. IChemE iAc 2005 Award for Applied Catalysis. EFCATS 2005 François Gault Lecturer. IChemE Environwise Prize of Green Chemistry 2007, RSC Award for Interfaces and Surfaces 2009, IPMI IPMI Henry J. Albert Award, 2011, France Great Britain Chemistry Prize 2011, Dechema Alvin Mittasch Award 2012, International Association of Catalysis Societies Heinz Heinemann Award 2012, Thompson Reuters Citation Laureate September 2012, Distinguished Visiting Lecturer, Catalysis Society of South Africa, 2013, Royal Society Davy Medal 2013.  Winner of Dow Methane Challenge 2008.  Appointed FRSC 1987, FIChE 2005, FIOP 2009.  Elected FRS 2009. Founding Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales 2010. Elected to Academia Europaea 2010. Invited Professor in Residence at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, 2003-4.  Visiting Professor, University of Witwatersrand since 2000 and Tokyo Metropolitan University since 2010, and Adjunct Professor at the State University of Louisiana since 2011.