Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Innovation and excellence award

11 November 2009

Innovation and excellence award

The Institute of Chemical Engineers Innovation and Excellence Award in Sustainable Technology was presented to Professor Graham Hutchings and Dr Jenifer Edwards of the Cardiff Catalysis Institute, and to Dr Armin Liebens of Solvay. Unfortunately Dr Liebens could not attend and Solvay were represented by Dr Eileen Diaken.

This award, sponsored by ABB Global Consulting, recognises the project or process that best demonstrates innovation in waste reduction, recycling, reuse or the lengthening of product lifecycles, and is for work on the direct synthesis of hydrogen peroxide.

The award was presented at a Gala dinner in York, hosted by racing pundit Derek Thompson.

J. K. Edwards, B. Solsona, E. Ntainjua N, A. F. Carley, A. A. Herzing, C. J. Kiely and G. J. Hutchings "Switching-off Hydrogen Peroxide Hydrogenation in the Direct Synthesis Process"

Science, 323, 1037 (2009)