Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Prof Paul Kemp  -  DPhil (Oxon)

Research Grants & Patents


Oct 2013 - Patent. Generating fully functional neurons from human pluripotent stem cells in 30 days (with ND Allen).

Sep 2013 - Patent. Use of calcilytic compounds as an asthma therapeutic (with D Riccardi (Cardiff), JPT Ward (Kings London) and C Corrigan (Kings London)).

Grants Awarded & Current

2014-2019 - MRC Capital CRI award. UK Dementia Platform. £8M (Cardiff component ca. £1M, with ND Allen, V Buchman, E Lloyd-Evans from BIOSI).

2014-2017 - CHDI. Programme Grant. 503553/D. Functional characterisation of iPSC-derived medium spiny neurons. 2 years. £740,000 (with ND Allen).

2014-2015 - CHDI. Equipment Grant. Modeling HD in neural networks generated from patient iPSCs: optogentic regulation of synaptic activity of FRET reporters. £92, 000 (with ND Allen).

2013-2018 - EU Framework 7. Collaborative Project (small to medium-scale focused research project). Repair HD: First in man use of iPSCs for treatment of Huntington’s Disease. ca.€6,700,000 (with 7 other centres, £2.2M to Cardiff).

2013-2015 - CHDI. Programme Grant 503553/C. Functional characterisation of hIPSC-derived medium spiny neurons. 2 years. Competititive renewal ca. £43,000 (with ND Allen).

2012-2015 -  British Heart Foundation PG/12/37/29610. Mechanism of Epo-dependent remodelling of mammalian oxygen sensing 3 years. £193,845 (with D Riccardi and ND Allen)

2012-2014 - CHDI. Programme Grant. 503553/B Functional characterisation of hES-derived medium spiny neurons. 2 years.  Equipment and extra FTE. ca. £50,000 (with ND Allen).

2012-2014 - CHDI. Programme Grant. 503553/A Functional characterisation of hES-derived medium 

Staff Members

Ms Lydia Searchfield – Lab Manager

Dr Julia Griffiths – Post-doctoral scientist

Dr Alis Hughes - Post-doctoral scientist

Dr Christian Schnell - Post-doctoral scientist

Dr Vsevolod Telezhkin – Post-doctoral scientist

Dr Polina Yarova - Post-doctoral scientist

Dr Sun Yung - Post-doctoral scientist

Postgraduate Research Students

Miss Rachel Steeg – PhD Student

Mr Stuart Hanmer - PhD Student

Dr Joao Bigares - PhD Student

Miss Annalena Wieland – Erasmus MSc Student