Chair of Council

Professor Stuart Palmer
Professor Stuart Palmer FREng, DSc, PhD, BSc

Professor Stuart Palmer, FREng, is a former Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Warwick. He holds a BSc, PhD and DSc in Physics from the University of Sheffield and Honorary DSc from the University of Warwick. 

His academic career began in 1967 at the University of Hull (Lecturer, Senior Lecturer and Reader) before moving to Warwick in 1987 as Professor of Experimental Physics. He was appointed Head of the Department of Physics in 1989, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research 1995-1999 and Senior Pro Vice-Chancellor 1999-2001. 

He stood down as Head of Department in 2001 to take on the role of the University’s first Deputy Vice-Chancellor, a role he filled until 2010. He is currently Emeritus Professor at the University of Warwick and Adjunct Professor at Queensland University of Technology. 

Professor Palmer is a member of the HEFCE Financial Sustainability Strategy Group and the Board of the Mercia Seed Corn Fund. 

He is Chair of the Trustees of:

  • the University of Warwick Pension Fund
  • the HEFCE TRAC Development Group
  • the Board of Institute of Physics Publishing.

Professor Palmer is Honorary Secretary of the Institute of Physics and held the post of the Secretary General of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (2012-2015). 

Professor Palmer was appointed to Council on 2 December 2013. He is also a member of Academic Promotions Committee, Governance Committee and Remuneration Committee. Professor Palmer has also been appointed as a Trustee of the Cardiff University Pension Fund.